Jyothi Pradaan Ceremony 2022-23

February 13, 2023

St Aloysius Gonzaga School organised “Jyothi Pradaan” ceremony for the outgoing batch of Class X 2022-23 on 13 February 2023. The solemn celebration was graced by Fr Melwin Pinto SJ, Rector of St Aloysius Institutions together with Principal Fr Melwyn Anil Lobo SJ, Vice-principal Ms Laurel D Souza, parents of class X students and the teachers. Addressing the students who are at the crossroads of their life, the Rector advised to set a goal, keep reflecting and live a meaningful life by contributing to the development of the society. The Principal in his speech said that the Jyothi Pradaan is to light the light within us. He gave a call to students to be focussed and open minded to embrace the challenges of life with a positive attitude.

The ceremony began with a meaningful prayer service by the staff members. The Vice-principal Ms Laurel D Souza highlighted the importance of light and said, “Light symbolizes a divine presence, a ray of hope which is the only source of all creation which dispels all darkness and ushers in wisdom, knowledge and understanding”.

The oiling of the lamp was done by the dignitaries and the teachers of Class X, who were a part of their journey in this school. The main lamp was lit by the dignitaries and the class teachers of Class X. Then the students of Class X in turn lighted their lamps from the main Diya and placed them around the main lamp, symbolising they will carry the light of learning they received in this school wherever they move ahead in their life. The outgoing students took the pledge led by the Principal, promising their loyalty and service to their alma mater. To cherish the memories of the time spent in school, a Video Presentation was presented. The staff members wished the students adieu by singing a melodious farewell song.

On behalf of the outgoing students, Neil Wilfred Rodricks and Amisha Karen Dsouza shared their experience in St Aloysius Gonzaga School and expressed their gratitude to Rector, Principal, Vice-Principal, Teaching and non-teaching staff. Teachers Ms Sandhya Manoj and Ms Shilpa Ballal expressed their views and wished them well for their future. The Parent representative Mrs Priya Eustace, the proud parent of Tia Marian Eustace, shared her experience of being a parent in this school for the last 10 years and expressed gratitude towards the management. The dignitaries handed over the mementos to the students as a token of love and affection.

Ms Jisha Thomas welcomed the gathering. The vote of thanks was proposed by Ms Preethan Pereira. The programme was compered by Ms Vidya Esther.

The outgoing students handed over their contribution of Rs 90,000/- to the Principal towards the School Scholarship Fund as a token of love and gratitude to the alma mater. The ceremony ended with fellowship meal.

Ms PreethanPeriera, Ms Sandhya Manoj and Ms Jisha Thomas were the programme coordinators.